calendar-grid-61 copy Created with Sketch. chevron-left chevron-right close envelope facebook info instagram location menu phone search-sml search twitter

Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg

Contact Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg

Map

Bookings & Enquiries
Wagner’s beloved comedy takes a joyful look at the art of music itself: what is wrong, what is right, and who decides. The mastersingers are holding a high-stakes singing competition, and Walther needs to win. He’s an outsider, an upstart, and he doesn’t know the rules. But to win the hand of his beloved Eva, he must sing the greatest song ever made. Enter Hans Sachs: mastersinger, cobbler, and the beating human heart of this opera. He offers the newcomer all his warmth and wisdom, knowing it will cost his own chance at love. Hans Sachs is a prized tour de force for a baritone with a rich voice and absorbing stage presence. James Johnson leads a huge, exciting cast including Stefan Vinke, Warwick Fyfe and Natalie Aroyan. After his triumphs with the Ring Cycle, Pietari Inkinen returns to conduct the magnificent score. Hear the Wagnerian forces of Orchestra Victoria and special guests in these performances, exclusive to Melbourne. Kasper Holten’s extravagant staging for the Royal Opera House and Opera Australia celebrates change: how the deepest of traditions can give way to something powerful and new. Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg is a glowing testament to the wonder of human artistry.

Event Dates

  • Monday 12th November (4:00pm - 10:00pm)
  • Tuesday 13th November (4:00pm - 10:00pm)
  • Wednesday 14th November (4:00pm - 10:00pm)
  • Thursday 15th November (4:00pm - 10:00pm)
  • Friday 16th November (4:00pm - 10:00pm)
  • Saturday 17th November (4:00pm - 10:00pm)
  • Sunday 18th November (4:00pm - 10:00pm)
  • Monday 19th November (4:00pm - 10:00pm)
  • Tuesday 20th November (4:00pm - 10:00pm)
  • Wednesday 21st November (4:00pm - 10:00pm)

view 8 more dates